A Complete List of Published Works Can Be Found in PubMed

UC Merced

Angel K. Kongsomboonvech, Felipe Rodriguez, Anh L. Diep, Brandon M. Justice, Brayan E. Castallanos, Ana Camejo, Debanjan Mukhopadhyay, Gregory A. Taylor, Masahiro Yamamoto, Jeroen P.J. Saeij, Michael L. Reese, Kirk D. C. Jensen. Naïve CD8 T cell IFNγ responses to a vacuolar antigen are regulated by an inflammasome-independent NLRP3 pathway and Toxoplasma gondii ROP5. Pre-print bioRxiv 2020.

April C. Apostol, Kirk D. C. Jensen, Anna E. Beaudin. Training the Fetal Immune System Through Maternal Inflammation—A Layered Hygiene Hypothesis. Frontiers in Immunology, February 2020, Volume 11, Article 123.

Samantha D. Splitt*, Scott P. Souza*, Kristen M. Valentine, Brayan E. Castellanos, Andrew B. Curd, Katrina K. Hoyer, Kirk D. C. Jensen. PD-L1, TIM-3, and CTLA-4 blockade fail to promote resistance to secondary infection with virulent strains of Toxoplasma gondiiInfection and Immunity, 2018. See Research Spotlight: Infection and Immunity. *Co-first authors.

Kirk D. C. Jensen. Antigen Presentation of Vacuolated Apicomplexans – Two Gateways to a Vaccine Antigen. Spotlight Article.  Trends in Parasitology, 32(2):88-90; 2016.

Postdoctoral work at MIT

Musa A. Hassan, Kirk D. Jensen, Vincent Butty, Kenneth Hu, Erwan Boedec, Pjotr Prins, Jeroen P. J. Saeij. Transcriptional and Linkage Analyses Identify Loci that Mediate the Differential Macrophage Response to Inflammatory Stimuli and Infection. PLOS Genetics, 11(10):e1005619; 2015.

Kirk D. C. Jensen*, Ana Camejo*, Mariane B. Melo, Cynthia Cordeiro, Lindsay Julien, Gijsbert M. Grotenbreg, Eva-Maria Frickel, Hidde L. Ploegh, Lucy Young, Jeroen J. P. Saeij. Toxoplasma gondii Superinfection and Virulence during Secondary Infection Correlate with the Exact ROP5/ROP18 Allelic Combination. mBio, Feb 24;6(2); 2015. *Co-first authors.

Musa A. Hassan, Vincent Butty, Kirk D. C. Jensen, and Jeroen P. J. Saeij. The genetic basis for individual differences in mRNA splicing and 1 APOBEC1 editing activity in murine macrophages. Genome Research, 24(3):377-89; 2014.

Ana Camejo, Daniel A. Gold, Diana Lu, Kiva McFetridge, Lindsay Julien, Ninghan Yang, Kirk D. C. Jensen, Jeroen P. J. Saeij. Identification of three novel Toxoplasma gondii rhoptry proteins. International Journal for Parasitology, 44(2):147-60; 2014.

Kirk D. C. Jensen, Kenneth Hu, Ryan J. Whitmarsh, Musa A. Hassan, Lindsay Julien, Diana Lu, Lieping Chen, Christopher A. Hunter, Jeroen P. J. Saeij. Toxoplasma rhoptry kinase ROP16 promotes host resistance to oral infection and intestinal inflammation only in the context of the dense granule protein GRA15. Infection and immunity, 81(6): 2156-2167. ‘Article of significant interest’ selected by the editors, see Research Spotlight: Infection and Immunity, 81(6): 1859; 2013.

Mussa A Hassan, Mariane B. Melo, Brian Haas, Kirk D. C. Jensen, Jeroen P. J. Saeij. De novo reconstruction of the Toxoplasma gondii transcriptome improves on the current genome annotation and reveals alternatively spliced transcripts and putative long non-coding RNAs. BMC Genomics: 13:696; 2012.

Sebastian V. Winter, Wendy Niedelman, Kirk D. Jensen, Emily E. Rosowski, Lindsay Julien, Eric Spooner, Kacey Caradonna, Barbara A. Burleigh, Jeroen P. J. Saeij, Hidde L. Ploegh, Eva-Maria Frickel Determinants of GBP Recruitment to Toxoplasma gondii Vacuoles and the Parasitic Factors That Control It. PLOS One 6(9): e24434; 2011.

Mariane B. Melo*, Kirk D. C. Jensen*, and Jeroen P. J. Saeij. Toxoplasma gondii effectors are master regulators of the inflammatory response. Trends in Parasitology, 27(11):487-95; 2011. *Co-first authors.

Kirk D. C. Jensen, Yiding Wang, Elia D. Tait Wojno, Anjali J. Shastri, Kenneth Hu, Lara Cornel, Erwan Boedec, Yi-Ching Ong, Yueh-hsiu Chien, Chris A. Hunter, John C. Boothroyd, and Jeroen P. J. Saeij. Toxoplasma Polymorphic Effectors Determine Macrophage Polarization and Intestinal Inflammation. Cell Host & Microbe 9(6): 472-483; 2011. Comments in: Cell Host & Microbe 9(6): 445-447; 2011.

Emily E. Rosowski, Diana Lu, Lindsay Julien, Lauren Rodda, Rogier A. Gaiser, Kirk D. C. Jensen, Jeroen P.J. Saeij. Strain-specific activation of the NF-kappaB pathway by GRA15, a novel Toxoplasma gondii dense granule protein. Journal of Experimental Medicine 208(1):195-212; 2011.

Graduate work at Stanford University

Michael S. Kuhns, Andrew T. Girvin, Lawrence O. Klein, Rebecca Chen, Kirk D. C. Jensen, Evan W. Newell, Johannes B. Huppa, Björn F. Lillemeier, Morgan Huse, Yueh-hsiu Chien, K. Christopher Garcia, and Mark M. Davis. Evidence for a functional sidedness to the αβTCR. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences 107(11): 5094-5099; 2010.

Kirk D. C. Jensen*, Sunny Shin*, Yueh-hsiu Chien. γδ Intraepithelial lymphocytes of the small intestine are not biased toward thymic antigens. Journal of Immunology, Cutting Edge, 182(12): 7348-7351; 2009. *Co-first authors.

Kirk D. C. Jensen and Yueh-hsiu Chien. Thymic maturation determines γδ T cell function, but not their antigen specificities. Current Opinions in Immunology, 21(2):140-145, 2009.

Kirk D. C. Jensen, Xiaoqin Su, Sunny Shin, Luke Li, Sawsan Youssef, Sho Yamasaki, Lawrence Steinman, Takashi Saito, Richard M. Locksley, Mark M. Davis, Nicole Baumgarth and Yueh-hsiu Chien. Thymic Selection Determines γδ T Cell Effector Fate: Antigen-Naive Cells Make Interleukin-17 and Antigen-Experienced Cells Make Interferon γ. Immunity 29(1): 90-100; 2008. Comments in: Immunity 29(1): 3-5; 2008; Research Highlights: Nature Reviews Immunology 8, 574-575.

Master’s thesis at the La Jolla Institute for Allergy and Immunology

Kirk D. C. Jensen, Eli Sercarz, Cluadia Raja-Gabaglia. Altered peptide ligands can modify the Th2 T cell response to the immunodominant 161-175 peptide of LACK (Leishmania homolog for the receptor of activated C kinase). Molecular Immunology 46(3): 366-374; 2009.